Mark Z. Danielewski’s “House of Leaves,” interpreted by Aaron Bir

5 Aug

This time around we decided to translate scenes from our favorite prose books into comics. I decided to challenge myself and attempt a passage from “House of Leaves” by Mark Z. Danielewski.

If you’re not familiar, the novel is one the most disturbing books I’ve ever read. This isn’t due to any overt grossness or ickiness. I found the tale about a book,  which is about a film, which in itself is about a very peculiar house (as edited by a protagonist, who is most likely mad) to challenge my perception of the boundaries between story and reality.

Danielewski never let me forget I was reading a book, yet he defied the normal terms in which a prose story is presented visually.

I’m presenting an interpretation of a scene from chapter five. This starts with the first exploration a hallway that has suddenly and surprisingly appeared in, the photo-journalist, Navidson’s home..

THERE IS FEMALE NUDITY IN THIS COMIC. IF YOU’RE OPPOSED TO THAT SORT OF THING, STOP NOW.

House of Leaves, Comic adaption

8 Responses to “Mark Z. Danielewski’s “House of Leaves,” interpreted by Aaron Bir”

  1. Colin August 10, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Wow. Mr. D posted this on facebook so he was obviously impressed with this. I’m a huge graphic novel fan and never thought of HoL being one for some reason until now. I think this would be the best medium to do instead of a film. Talk to him and see what he’d let you do.

  2. Shanna Hollich August 11, 2011 at 6:14 am #

    Yeah, he posted it on Twitter, too. That’s how I got here. http://twitter.com/markdanielewski – I think he may have a Google Alert or some other system set up to notify him when people mention him or his work; he posts a link to just about everything he finds that mentions him or his novels.

  3. Aaron Bir August 11, 2011 at 7:40 am #

    Hmmm… A gaping entrance into nothing and vagina. I don’t know if this says more about me or Mark.

  4. Ender AzOphie August 25, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    This is an interesting shift of mediums. How clever you are. The movement of thought through the piece didn’t go unnoticed, the subtle polarization in mental-depth, yet the juxtaposition in importance still encompasses a singular action -an initial step into one’s curiosity, and the invisible leagues of discovery therein.

    You sir, are a Unicorn, and if I wasn’t an 2 dimensional electrical projection, I would shake your hand and kiss your face,

    • Aaron Bir February 15, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      That’s a lovely compliment. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

